12 Apr 2021

This measure is likely the result of Sarawak`s request to postpone implementation until July to a later date, which was rejected. But what`s interesting, is that the Minister of State for Tourism De Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah said that tourism was an issue that needed to be discussed as part of the 1963 agreement on Malaysia: on September 11, 1963, just four days before the creation of the new Malaysian federation, the Kelantan State Government sought a declaration that the Malaysian Agreement and the Malaysia Act were not and were not. or not to hire kelantan State, even if they were valid. [after whom?] [Citation required] Kelantan`s government argued that both the Malaysian agreement and the Malaysian Act were not binding on Kelantan, given that The Malaysian law had in fact abolished the Malaya Federation and that this was at odds with the Malaya Federation of 1957, and that the proposed amendments required the agreement of each of the constituent states of the Malaya Federation. , including the Kelantan, and that this had not been done. [Citation required] Some groups claim that Sabah and Sarawak should be called “Negara” (nation) and the head of state “Yang di-Pertua Negara”, on the basis that Sarawak gained independence on 22 July 1963 and that Sabah gained independence on 31 August 1963, before founding Malaysia with the Malaya Federation on 16 September 1963. They believe that the head of state of Sabah, known as “Yang di-Pertua Negara” between 1963 and 1976, supports this view. [20] [21] [22] [23] The Malaysian government has promised to restore the rights of Sabah and Sarawak as equal partners of Malaysia, in accordance with the 1963 Malaysian Convention (MA63). This means giving the two states greater autonomy in several territories currently controlled by the federal government.

The Malayan Union was founded by the British Malaya and consists of the federated states of Perak, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang; the unfederated Malay states of Kedah, Perlis, Kelantan, Terengganu, Johor; and the streets of Penang and Malacca. It was created in 1946 by a series of agreements between the United Kingdom and the Malayan Union. [7] The Malay Union was replaced by the Federation of Malaya on 1 February 1948 and gained independence from the Commonwealth of Nations on 31 August 1957. [5] Under the Malaysian agreement signed between Great Britain and the Federation of Malaya, Britain would adopt an act to abandon sovereign control of Singapore, Sarawak and North Borneo (now Sabah).